# **News Release**

# Allison Named Leader in Banking Excellence



## For immediate release July 28, 2020



**George L. Allison**, past president and CEO of Owen County State Bank, Spencer, is being honored by the Indiana Bankers Association with the IBA Leaders in Banking Excellence award, to be presented at a private ceremony in December in Indianapolis. This award, the Association's highest honor, celebrates exceptional leaders who have positively impacted Indiana banks and the communities they serve.

At the upcoming awards event, Indiana dignitaries from private and public sectors will be making presentations, and honorees will have the opportunity to offer comments. Additionally, participants will be invited to visit the IBA offices to view the Leaders in

Banking Excellence wall, with plaques showcasing each honoree to remain on permanent display. Each honoree is to receive a keepsake plaque at the awards ceremony.

The 2020 Leaders in Banking Excellence represent a range of current and retired leaders in banking. All were nominated by IBA members and approved unanimously by the IBA Board of Directors.

### Allison biography:

**George L. Allison** is past president and CEO of Owen County State Bank, Spencer, as well as a retired director. He joined the organization in 1962 and was elected to the board in 1967. During his nearly 60-year career, Allison served in almost every position with the bank, from mail room clerk to chairman of the board. Additionally, he served the Indiana Bankers Association as 1996-97 chairman. Allison has been active with multiple community organizations and was instrumental in helping to found the Owen County Family YMCA and the Owen County Community Foundation. He and his late wife, Jetta L. Allison, created the Allison Family Fund in 2007 to support local causes. A member of the IBA 40 Year Club, Allison completed the Graduate School of Banking at the University of Wisconsin and is a veteran of the U.S. Army.

Congratulations to the 2020 class of IBA Leaders in Banking Excellence:

George L. Allison, Owen County State Bank, Spencer Craig M. Dwight, Horizon Bank, Michigan City Clay W. Ewing, German American Bank, Jasper William W. Harrod, First Harrison Bank, Corydon Charles E. Isch, First Bank of Berne Gene E. Miles, First Farmers Bank & Trust, Converse Larry W. Myers, First Savings Bank, Clarksville John W. Tanselle, SmithAmundsen LLC, Indianapolis Ryan M. Warner, Bippus State Bank, Huntington David G. Wihebrink, Logansport Savings Bank

#### ###

The Indiana Bankers Association supports Indiana banking through issues advocacy, professional education, and products and services that enhance financial institutions' ability to help build better communities.

Indiana Bankers Association 8425 Woodfield Crossing Blvd., Suite 155E, Indianapolis, IN 46240-7321 Indiana.bank / @indianabankers Contact: Laura Wilson, <u>Iwilson@indiana.bank</u>, 317-333-7146