## **News Release**

## DeHaven Named Leader in Banking Excellence

For immediate release August 7, 2018





**S. Joe DeHaven**, retired CEO of the Indiana Bankers Association, was honored by the Indiana Bankers Association (IBA) as a Leader in Banking Excellence at an awards ceremony held on Aug. 3. The leadership award, initiated this year, recognizes exceptional bankers who have positively impacted Indiana banks and the communities they serve. Along with DeHaven, eight other members of the Indiana banking community were named to the inaugural class of Leaders in Banking Excellence.

The awards ceremony took place at the IBA offices in Indianapolis, with presentations from dignitaries including Congressman Trey Hollingsworth; Director Thomas C. Fite,

Indiana Department of Financial Institutions; Senators Rodric Bray and Travis Holdman; IBA Chairman Clay W. Ewing, German American Bank, Jasper; and IBA President and CEO Amber R. Van Til. The ceremony culminated with the showing of the IBA Leaders in Banking Excellence wall, where plaques representing each honoree are to remain on permanent display.

The plaque for Mr. DeHaven reads as follows:

S. Joe DeHaven led the Indiana Bankers Association through vibrant growth before retiring in 2016 as CEO, a position he held since 2007. He additionally served for several years as IBA president. DeHaven began his career in 1970 with Merchants National Bank of Muncie, and in 1990 he joined the Community Bankers Association of Indiana as president and CEO, later guiding the successful merger of the CBAI and the IBA. His leadership has included advisory positions with the American Bankers Association, the Independent Community Bankers of America and the Herbert V. Prochnow Educational Foundation. A graduate of Ball State University and of the Graduate School of Banking at the University of Wisconsin, DeHaven was named Association Executive of the Year by the Indiana Society of Association Executives in 2010 and honored as a Sagamore of the Wabash in 2017.

The Indiana Bankers Association extends congratulations to the 2018 class of Leaders in Banking Excellence: David A. Bochnowski, Peoples Bank, Munster Alonzo Hernly Boyd Jr. (deceased), Wayne Bank and Trust Company, Cambridge City John H. Colvin, North Salem State Bank Michael L. Cox (deceased), First Merchants Bank, Muncie S. Joe DeHaven, Indiana Bankers Association, Indianapolis Patrick J. Glotzbach, The New Washington State Bank, Charlestown Dan L. Moore, Home Bank, Martinsville James L. Saner Sr., North Salem State Bank Mark A. Schroeder, German American Bank, Jasper

Continued





The Indiana Bankers Association has inducted nine bankers into the inaugural 2018 class of Leaders in Banking Excellence, in recognition of professionals who have positively impacted Indiana banks and the communities they serve. Shown are (front row, from left): Mark A. Schroeder, German American Bank, Jasper; James L. Saner Sr., North Salem State Bank; John H. Colvin, North Salem State Bank; (back row, from left): Patrick J. Glotzbach, The New Washington State Bank, Charlestown; Sharon Cox, representing the late Michael L. Cox, First Merchants Bank, Muncie; S. Joe DeHaven, Indiana Bankers Association; Dan L. Moore, Home Bank, Martinsville; Wendy Boyd, representing the late Alonzo Hernly Boyd Jr., Wayne Bank and Trust Company, Cambridge City; and David A. Bochnowski, Peoples Bank, Munster. *Photos available upon request.* 

###

The Indiana Bankers Association supports Indiana banking through issues analysis, professional education, and products and services that enhance financial institutions' ability to help build better communities.

## Indiana Bankers Association

8425 Woodfield Crossing Blvd. Suite 155E Indianapolis, IN 46240-7321 indianabankers.org / @indianabankers

Contact: Laura Wilson, lwilson@indianabankers.org, 317-333-7146