News Release

Ewing Named Leader in Banking Excellence



For immediate release July 21, 2020



Clay W. Ewing, president and chief banking officer of German American Bank, Jasper, is being honored by the Indiana Bankers Association with the IBA Leaders in Banking Excellence award, to be presented at a private ceremony in December in Indianapolis. This award, the Association's highest honor, celebrates exceptional leaders who have positively impacted Indiana banks and the communities they serve.

At the upcoming awards event, Indiana dignitaries from private and public sectors will be making presentations, and honorees will have the opportunity to offer comments. Additionally, participants will be invited to visit the IBA offices to view the Leaders in

Banking Excellence wall, with plaques showcasing each honoree to remain on permanent display. Each honoree is to receive a keepsake plaque at the awards ceremony.

The 2020 Leaders in Banking Excellence represent a range of current and retired leaders in banking. All were nominated by IBA members and approved unanimously by the IBA Board of Directors.

Ewing biography:

Clay W. Ewing is president and chief banking officer of German American Bank, Jasper, and German American Bancorp Inc. Additionally, he is designated to be named vice chairman effective Jan. 1, 2021. Ewing began his banking career in 1978 and has been with German American since 1994. He has served in leadership positions with numerous civic and not-for-profit organizations including the Bank Administration Institute, Inaugural Class of Leadership Perry County, Economic Development Coalition of Southwest Indiana, Perry County Community Foundation, Perry County Development Corp., Perry County United Way and Tell City Jaycees. As 2018 chairman of the Indiana Bankers Association, Ewing successfully initiated efforts to establish a collegiate banking major in Indiana and to create an IBA-led statewide banking internship program. He is a Sagamore of the Wabash, a member of the IBA 40 Year Club, and a graduate of Lockyear College and the School for Bank Administration at the University of Wisconsin.

Congratulations to the 2020 class of IBA Leaders in Banking Excellence:

George L. Allison, Owen County State Bank, Spencer Craig M. Dwight, Horizon Bank, Michigan City Clay W. Ewing, German American Bank, Jasper William W. Harrod, First Harrison Bank, Corydon Charles E. Isch, First Bank of Berne

Gene E. Miles, First Farmers Bank & Trust, Converse Larry W. Myers, First Savings Bank, Clarksville John W. Tanselle, SmithAmundsen LLC, Indianapolis Ryan M. Warner, Bippus State Bank, Huntington David G. Wihebrink, Logansport Savings Bank

###

The Indiana Bankers Association supports Indiana banking through issues advocacy, professional education, and products and services that enhance financial institutions' ability to help build better communities.

Indiana Bankers Association