## News Release

## Leaders in Banking Excellence Receive Honors



For immediate release August 24, 2021

The Indiana Bankers Association has recognized 17 members of the Indiana banking community with Leaders in Banking Excellence awards, the Association's highest honor. The awards ceremony took place Aug. 16 at the IBA Annual Convention in French Lick. Honorees represent both the classes of 2020 and 2021, since last year's ceremony was delayed due to the pandemic.

At the honors ceremony, presentations were made by dignitaries including: U.S. Sen. Mike Braun; Director Thomas C. Fite, Indiana Department of Financial Institutions; IBA Chairman Michael S. Zahn; and Amber R. Van Til, IBA president and CEO. Additionally, each honoree was invited to make comments, and each was presented with an ebony keepsake plaque.

The awards ceremony culminated with the showing of a traveling version of the IBA Wall of Excellence. A permanent Wall of Excellence is on display at the IBA offices in Indianapolis, with crystalline plaques representing all the Leaders in Banking Excellence designated since 2018, the year the awards were created.

The classes of 2020 and 2021 Leaders in Banking Excellence represent a range of current and retired bankers, selected for their positive impact on Indiana banks and the communities they serve. All honorees were nominated by IBA-member organizations and approved by the IBA board of directors.

## **Class of 2020 Honorees**

George L. Allison, Owen County State Bank, Spencer Craig M. Dwight, Horizon Bank, Michigan City Clay W. Ewing, German American Bank, Jasper William W. Harrod, First Harrison Bank, Corydon Charles E. Isch, First Bank of Berne Gene E. Miles, First Farmers Bank & Trust, Converse Larry W. Myers, First Savings Bank, Jeffersonville John W. Tanselle, SmithAmundsen LLC, Indianapolis Ryan M. Warner, Bippus State Bank, Huntington David G. Wihebrink, Logansport Savings Bank

## **Class of 2021 Honorees**

David B. Becker, First Internet Bank of Indiana, Fishers Richard E. Belcher, First Federal Savings Bank, Rochester Mark S. Fogt, Garrett State Bank David M. Geis, Jackson County Bank, Seymour James D. Neff, Horizon Bank, Michigan CityMichael C. Rechin, First Merchants Bank, MuncieC. Michael Stegall, Community First Bank of Indiana, Kokomo

For more information about IBA Leaders in Banking Excellence, including past honorees, visit: <u>indiana.bank/leaders-banking-excellence</u>.



Inductees and dignitaries gather for the presentation of the Indiana Bankers Association Leaders in Banking Excellence awards, representing the classes of 2020 and 2021. Shown are (row 1, from left): David M. Geis, Jackson County Bank; Ryan M. Warner, Bippus State Bank; George L. Allison, Owen County State Bank; and Charles E. Isch, First Bank of Berne; (row 2, from left): U.S. Sen. Mike Braun; Mark S. Fogt, Garrett State Bank; James D. Neff, Horizon Bank; William W. Harrod, First Harrison Bank; Clay W. Ewing, German American Bank; C. Michael Stegall, Community First Bank of Indiana; and Thomas C. Fite, Indiana Department of Financial Institutions; (row 3, from left): Larry W. Myers, First Savings Bank; Gene E. Miles, First Farmers Bank & Trust; David B. Becker, First Internet Bank of Indiana; John W. Tanselle, SmithAmundsen LLC; and Michael C. Rechin, First Merchants Bank. Honorees not pictured are: Richard E. Belcher, First Federal Savings Bank, Rochester; Craig M. Dwight, Horizon Bank; and David G. Wihebrink, Logansport Savings Bank.

###

The Indiana Bankers Association supports Indiana banking through issues advocacy, professional education, and products and services that enhance financial institutions' ability to help build better communities.

Indiana Bankers Association 8425 Woodfield Crossing Blvd., Suite 155E, Indianapolis, IN 46240-7321 Indiana.bank / @indianabankers Contact: Laura Wilson, <u>Iwilson@indiana.bank</u>, 317-333-7146