News Release

Miles Named Leader in Banking Excellence



For immediate release July 28, 2020



Gene E. Miles, CEO of First Farmers Bank & Trust, Converse, is being honored by the Indiana Bankers Association with the IBA Leaders in Banking Excellence award, to be presented at a private ceremony in December in Indianapolis. This award, the Association's highest honor, celebrates exceptional leaders who have positively impacted Indiana banks and the communities they serve.

At the upcoming awards event, Indiana dignitaries from private and public sectors will be making presentations, and honorees will have the opportunity to offer comments. Additionally, participants will be invited to visit the IBA offices to view the Leaders in

Banking Excellence wall, with plaques showcasing each honoree to remain on permanent display. Each honoree is to receive a keepsake plaque at the awards ceremony.

The 2020 Leaders in Banking Excellence represent a range of current and retired leaders in banking. All were nominated by IBA members and approved unanimously by the IBA Board of Directors.

Miles biography:

Gene E. Miles is CEO of First Farmers Bank & Trust, Converse, president and CEO of First Farmers Financial Corp., and a director of both organizations. He was named president and CEO of the bank in 1997 and transitioned to his current position in 2019. Miles was honored with the American Bankers Association Bruning Award in 2016 for lifetime achievement in agricultural banking; was awarded an Indiana House resolution in 2017 in recognition of banking accomplishments; and attended the 2018 State of the Union address in Washington, D.C., at the invitation of U.S. Sen. Todd Young. Miles is a member of the Indiana Bankers Association 40 Year Club and has served on the IBA Insurance Agency Board of Directors. He is a graduate of Purdue University and of the Graduate School of Banking at the University of Wisconsin.

Congratulations to the 2020 class of IBA Leaders in Banking Excellence:

George L. Allison, Owen County State Bank, Spencer Craig M. Dwight, Horizon Bank, Michigan City Clay W. Ewing, German American Bank, Jasper William W. Harrod, First Harrison Bank, Corydon Charles E. Isch, First Bank of Berne

Gene E. Miles, First Farmers Bank & Trust, Converse Larry W. Myers, First Savings Bank, Clarksville John W. Tanselle, SmithAmundsen LLC, Indianapolis Ryan M. Warner, Bippus State Bank, Huntington David G. Wihebrink, Logansport Savings Bank

###

The Indiana Bankers Association supports Indiana banking through issues advocacy, professional education, and products and services that enhance financial institutions' ability to help build better communities.

Indiana Bankers Association

8425 Woodfield Crossing Blvd., Suite 155E, Indianapolis, IN 46240-7321 Indiana.bank / @indianabankers

Contact: Laura Wilson, <a href="https://www.lwilson.google.g