Dr. Mark Calabria Director Federal Housing Finance Agency 400 7th Street, S.W. Washington, D.C. 20024

Dear Director Calabria:

We write to you, representing our member banks of all sizes in every state, urging you to use your power as regulator and conservator of Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac to rescind the 50 basis point fee on refinance loans announced last week by those entities.

The new fee, referred to as an "adverse market refinance fee," will harm consumers in urban, rural, and suburban communities across the country.

Borrowers have been helped by the historically low interest rates, allowing them to refinance their loans into significantly lower monthly payments and achieve a better financial position during these uncertain times. The impact of the additional charges imposed by Fannie and Freddie will raise a family's cost to refinance by roughly \$1,400 on an average-sized loan, perhaps threatening their ability to qualify for advantageous loans. The augmented prices will have an acute impact on lower-income borrowers, potentially putting such families' ability to refinance into a lower-rate loan out of their reach entirely.

In light of this sudden change in pricing, banks that have already provided borrowers with a locked-in price for loans in their pipeline will be hit with unexpected costs, jeopardizing their ability to provide mortgage services to their communities and throwing the refinance market into disarray.

While other federal entities are doing their utmost to keep rates low and the President has issued orders directing agencies to use all powers within their means to assist struggling homeowners in the current economic crisis, it is unfathomable that FHFA would allow Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac to undercut those efforts.

We urge you to direct Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac to rescind this fee increase. It is ill-advised and clearly contrary to current efforts aimed at supporting a crisis-stricken economy while homeowners persevere through a public health crisis.

Sincerely,

Alabama Bankers Association Alaska Bankers Association Arizona Bankers Association Arkansas Bankers Association California Bankers Association Colorado Bankers Association Connecticut Bankers Association Delaware Bankers Association Florida Bankers Association

Georgia Bankers Association

Hawaii Bankers Association

Idaho Bankers Association

Illinois Bankers Association

Indiana Bankers Association

Iowa Bankers Association

Kansas Bankers Association

Kentucky Bankers Association

Louisiana Bankers Association

Maine Bankers Association

Maryland Bankers Association

Massachusetts Bankers Association

Michigan Bankers Association

Minnesota Bankers Association

Mississippi Bankers Association

Missouri Bankers Association

Montana Bankers Association

Nebraska Bankers Association

Nevada Bankers Association

New Hampshire Bankers Association

New Jersey Bankers Association

New Mexico Bankers Association

New York Bankers Association

North Carolina Bankers Association

North Dakota Bankers Association

Ohio Bankers League

Oklahoma Bankers Association

Oregon Bankers Association

Pennsylvania Bankers Association

Puerto Rico Bankers Association

Rhode Island Bankers Association

South Carolina Bankers Association

South Dakota Bankers Association

Tennessee Bankers Association

Texas Bankers Association

Utah Bankers Association

Vermont Bankers Association

Virginia Bankers Association

Washington Bankers Association

West Virginia Bankers Association

Wisconsin Bankers Association

Wyoming Bankers Association

cc: The Honorable Steven Mnuchin

Secretary

United States Treasury

Larry Kudlow

Director

United States National Economic Council

The Honorable Mike Crapo

Chairman

Senate Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs Committee

The Honorable Sherrod Brown

Ranking Member

Senate Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs Committee

The Honorable Maxine Waters

Chairwoman

House Financial Services Committee

The Honorable Patrick McHenry

Ranking Members

House Financial Services Committee

Members of the United States Senate

Members of the United States House of Representatives