Briggs Elected 2019 Chairman of Indiana Bankers Association

Tuesday, September 18, 2018
IBA Communications

Andrew J. Briggs, current president and CEO of the Bank of Geneva, has been elected 2019 chairman of the board of directors of the Indiana Bankers Association (IBA), effective Jan. 1, 2019. He was elected in September at the Association’s Annual Convention in French Lick. Briggs represents the fifth generation of his family to serve as president of Bank of Geneva, following in the footsteps of his great-great-grandfather James Day, great-grandfather Andrew G. Briggs, grandfather James D. Briggs Sr. and father James D. Briggs Jr. He has more than 40 years of banking experience and has been serving as president and CEO since 1994. As recently announced, in 2019 Bank of Geneva will be merging with Farmers & Merchants State Bank, Archbold, Ohio, at which time Briggs will become the highest-ranking banking officer in the state of Indiana for Farmers & Merchants State Bank.

In addition to serving on the boards of Bank of Geneva and Limberlost Bancshares Inc. as chairman, Briggs serves the community in the following capacities: Indiana State Museum, treasurer; Limberlost State Historic Site, corporate secretary; Limberlost Conservation Association, treasurer; Northeast Indiana Regional Development Authority, chairman; Title Center of Indiana LLC, director; Adams County Community Foundation, vice president; Adams County Economic Development Corp., treasurer; and Adams Public Library System, treasurer. Additionally, Briggs was appointed in 2017 to the Indiana Board of Depositories. Past directorships include the Geneva, Indiana Town Council; Northeast Indiana Regional Partnership; South Adams Trails; Swiss Village Inc.; Adams-Wells Crisis Shelter; and Arts Place Inc. He has served on the IBA board as first and second vice chairman and as northeast region director. Briggs is a graduate of Ball State University and a member of the IBA 40 Year Club.

Members of the 2019 IBA board of directors, effective Jan. 1, 2019:

IBA Officers

Chairman - Andrew J. Briggs, Bank of Geneva, later Farmers & Merchants State Bank, Archbold, Ohio

First Vice Chairman - Lucas White, The Fountain Trust Company, Covington

Second Vice Chairman - Michael S. Zahn, First Federal Savings Bank, Huntington

Immediate Past Chairman - Clay W. Ewing, German American Bank, Jasper

President and CEO - Amber R. Van Til, Indiana Bankers Association, Indianapolis

Constituent Directors

ICBA State Director - Michael H. Head, First Federal Savings Bank, Evansville

ABA Membership Council - Michael K. Bauer, WesBanco Bank, New Albany

Future Leadership Division President - Kirby Drey, Kentland Bank

Non-Indiana Headquartered Bank Director - Tim Massey, BMO Harris Bank, Indianapolis

Northeast Region Directors

Jeffrey W. Gump, Farmers and Merchants Bank, Laotto

Garry D. Kleer, First Bank Richmond

Michael C. Rechin, First Merchants Bank, Muncie

Northwest Region Directors

Benjamin J. Bochnowski, Peoples Bank, Munster

Joseph D. Carlson, Community State Bank, Royal Center

Arden L. Cramer, Logansport Savings Bank

Southeast Region Directors

Karen B. Woods, First Financial Bank, Cincinnati

Gregory Inman, Scottsburg Building and Loan Association

John M. Kennedy, Greenfield Banking Company

Southwest Region Directors

Matthew W. Howrey, North Salem State Bank

Jamie R. Shinabarger, Springs Valley Bank & Trust Company, Jasper

Luke J. Yaeger, Commerce Bank, Evansville